News and updates from the continent

DEA’s Non-Motorised Transport Programme Phase 2 launched

DEA’s Non-Motorised Transport Programme Phase 2 launched

Feb 2, 2016

Today, 02 February 2016, the National Department of Environmental Affairs (DEA) launched a multi-million rand second Phase of a Non-Motorised Transport Programme (NMT) at its offices in Pretoria, Gauteng. The launch was conducted in partnership with its funders, the KFW German Development Bank who act on behalf of the Government of the Federal Republic of Germany.

President Jacob Zuma announced prior to the Copenhagen United Nations Climate Change Conference in December 2009 that South Africa will implement nationally appropriate mitigation actions which will result in the reduction of carbon emissions by 34 % by 2020 and by 42 % in 2025, depending on availability of finance and technology.

The National Climate Change Response Policy was introduced and sets the country’s vision for an effective climate change response and the long-term transition to a climate resilient and low-carbon economy and society.

The NMT Programme is integral to the implementation of the Policy’s Flagship Programmes with particular focus on sustainable transport. The Programme was developed by DEA in consultation with key stakeholders, as one of the measures to contribute towards the greening South Africa’s hosting of the 2010 FIFA World Cup by reducing carbon emissions. The programme is being executed in three World Cup Host Cities, namely:

– eThekwini Metropolitan Municipality,
– City of Johannesburg,
– Polokwane Local Municipality.

Phase 1 of the programme was initiated in 2011 focused on developing bicycle routes, parking facilities and rental stations with a view to promote non-motorised transport. The outcome is to reduce carbon emissions, improve air quality; and advocate behavioural change towards a cleaner healthier lifestyle.

The infrastructure development of Phase 1 has been completed at eThekwini Metropolitan Municipality and City of Johannesburg, whilst Polokwane Local Municipality is at the final stages of completion. The advocacy component of the NMT Phase 1 Programme comprised of several knowledge sharing sessions including a legislative review in order to inform the NMT agenda from a legislative perspective; the hosting of South Africa’s first National Conference on NMT and the development of the NMT Best Practice Manual to aid municipalities in planning, implementing and monitoring of similar projects.

Given the success of Phase 1, the DEA secured a grant of EURO 5 million to finance a five-year NMT Phase 2 from KfW Development Bank, within the framework of the German-South African bi-national Financial Cooperation.

Phase 2 will comprise of the extension of the existing bicycle networks, to contribute towards efficient intermodal transportation networks within the cities. It will further include associated services such as the promotion of SMME development through the establishment of Bicycle Empowerment Centres (BECs). In addition to the infrastructure development and associated services, the programme will have a national component which will entail advocacy campaigns to encourage NMT use by communities. Phase two will not be limited to pilot municipalities who participated in Phase one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *