News and updates from the continent

Minister Molewa Gazettes greenhouse gases priority

Minister Molewa Gazettes greenhouse gases priority

Jan 17, 2016

The South African Minister of Environmental Affairs has published the notice of intention to declare the greenhouse gases as priority air pollutants, under section 29(1), read with section 57(1). The greenhouse gases to be declared as priority pollutants include Carbon dioxide (CO2); Methane (CH4); Nitrous oxide (N2O); Hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs); Perfluorocarbons (PFCs); and Sulphur hexafluoride (SF6).

The Minister also issued the draft National Pollution Prevention Plans Regulations in respect of greenhouse gases, under section 29(3), read with section (53(a) and (o) of the National Environmental Management: Air Quality Act, 2004 (Act No. 39 of 2004) for comments on the same day. The purpose of these regulations is to prescribe the requirements that pollution prevention plans need to comply with in terms of section 29(3) of the Act.

The regulations require a company conducting certain production processes which involve the direct emission of greenhouses gases to prepare, submit and implement a pollution prevention plan in respect of greenhouse gases.

The processes referred to above cover coal mining; production and/or refining of crude oil; production and/or processing of natural gas; production of liquid fuels from coal or gas; cement production; glass production; ammonia production; nitric acid production; black carbon production; iron and steel production; ferro-alloys production; aluminium production; polymers production; pulp and paper production; and electricity production (combustion of fossil fuels, excluding the use of back-up generators).

The submission of these pollution prevention plans and periodic reporting of the progress towards their implementation will help the country measure its contribution towards a global efforts to cut down greenhouse gas emissions.

The draft Declaration and Regulations were published in the Government Gazette No. 39578 as Notices No. 5 and 6 of 2016, respectively.  These are also available on the Department of Environmental Affairs’ website (

Members of the public are invited to submit to the Minister, within 30 days after the publication of the notices in the Gazette, written representations on the draft Declaration and Regulations to the following addresses:


By post to:        The Director-General: Department of Environmental Affairs

Attention: Mr A.M. Makwarela

Private Bag X447

Pretoria, 0001

By hand at:       473 Steve Biko Street, Ground Floor (Reception), Environment house building, Arcadia, Pretoria, 0001.


By e-mail:

Any inquiries in connection with the draft notices can be directed to: Mr A.M. Makwarela, at 012 399 9163.

Comments received after the closing date will not be considered.

For media queries, contact Roopa Singh on 082 225 3076


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *